I Wrote a Book, Now I Need Your Help!

After starting the blog Suckled Sunnah, I learned so much inspiring and resourceful information about Islam and breastfeeding.  A few months ago, as I was completing my classes for the International Board Certification Lactation Exam my husband encouraged me to compile this information in a book.  I liked the idea of being able to share my knowledge and promote the benefits of breastfeeding in a format that will be more accessible to people worldwide.  So, I wrote a book entitled The Muslim Companion to Breastfeeding.  It has several chapters and provides information about breastfeeding that is relevant to Muslims  such as quranic verses, hadith, common fiqh issues, seerah, sunnah, explains why breastfeeding is best for Muslim families and explains how breastfeeding is from the fitrah, inherently a part of our spiritual and physical inclinations.  It also includes culturally-relevant recipes for teas, smoothies, snacks and stews, a guide on getting started with breastfeeding, duas, tips on maintaining modesty, lists of halal commercial formulas, milk-sharing, alternatives to breastfeeding, how to make your own formula and so much more!  Basically this book serves to educate Muslims on the divine blessing of breastfeeding and how to gain the most ajr (reward) from doing this action.
Now that you know more about this project, I would like to ask for your help.  I need editors – scholars, mothers, men, breastfeeding counselors, anyone interested in this topic to review my book and help me to make it better before I publish it.  I also need modest photos of Muslim families together, women and babies breastfeeding,  and/or baby-wearing.   With your permission using such photos will make my book more engaging and positive.  Email me at suckledsunnah@gmail.com if you are interested in being an editor or have a photo I can use.

Thank You

4 thoughts on “I Wrote a Book, Now I Need Your Help!

  1. Salam sister, Congratulations on your book. I have a similar blog about breastfeeding and Islam at http://www.ummi.co.uk. I was always thinking it would be a good idea if some wrote a book exclusively about Islam and breastfeeding and Alhumdullilah looks like it will be available soon inshallah. I would love to have a preview at your book.

  2. Asalaamu Alaykum Warahmatulaahi wa barakatuh! MashaaAllah sister this is such a good idea. I know especially first time moms struggle with breast feeding sometimes. Jazaakilahu kheyran for your efforts to help mamas! As a nursing mama myself, I appreciate it!

  3. Assalamualaikum, Jazzakallah for your efforts! ! I also think this is an amazing idea and would love to assist in anyway possible .. I will also probably be one of the first to buy your book!!:). Please email me if you still need assistance with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

