Oh No! My Child is Turning Two and He is Not Weaned

Many mothers worry if their child is still nursing beyond the age of two years.  As a mother myself, I understand that certain challenges can prevent a child from completely weaning as expected.  However, mothers should not put undue hardship on themselves if their child does not weaned by their second birthday.  In the translation of Surah-Al Ahqaf verse 15, Allah (swt) shows his compassion for mothers, “And We have enjoined upon man, to his parents, good treatment. His mother carried him with hardship and gave birth to him with hardship, and his gestation and weaning [period] is thirty months. [He grows] until, when he reaches maturity and reaches [the age of] forty years, he says, “My Lord, enable me to be grateful for Your favor which You have bestowed upon me and upon my parents and to work righteousness of which You will approve and make righteous for me my offspring. Indeed, I have repented to You, and indeed, I am of the Muslims.”

Naturally, weaning is a gradual process that differs for each child.  While there is a recommendation to breastfeed for two years, there is no obligation to wean at two years.  Also, there are different allowances for the length of time one can breastfeed in Islam.  Please read the following questions answered by qualified scholars to learn more about this issue.

Can I breastfeed after two years, or is it sinful?

What is the minimum age that a child should be breastfed?

Breastfeeding longer than two years in the Shafi Madhab

Is it permissible to breastfeed a child over two years old?

Is it permissible for the mother to breastfeed her child for longer then two years if there is a need?

Great Articles on Weaning:

Weaning: How does it happen?

Natural Weaning

Baby Knows Best: Baby Led Weaning Promotes Healthy Food Preferences

One thought on “Oh No! My Child is Turning Two and He is Not Weaned

  1. Assalamualaikum, first I would like to say thank you so much for writing this post and clarifying some of the concerns that us nursing mothers have .. I just want to pont out that the links for further information /sources that you posted are not working. . If you can get those to work it would be much appreciated! ! I am having a very hard time finding clear information on this topic and as my baby is 22 months right now and still nursing a lot I am feeling a lot pressure and stressed about it right now! ! jazzakallah in advance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

